community

SPOTLIGHT NIGHT

Here is your opportunity to learn more about the shows in the upcoming season. Hosted by Executive Producer and Artistic Director David Armstrong, Spotlight Night gives you a chance to hear more about the writers and composers who create musicals. You'll hear songs sung by some of our favorite 5th Avenue performers. And you'll meet members of the creative team who will bring each production to life. Best of all, these general admission events are always FREE!

Spotlight Nights for the 2016/17 Season:

Man of La Mancha Thursday, September 22, 2016
Disney's The Little Mermaid Thursday, November 3, 2016
Pajama Game Thursday, January 19, 2017
Secret Garden &
Murder for Two
Thursday, March 9, 2017
Romy & Michele's
High School Reunion
Thursday, May 18, 2017
Fun Home Date to be announced

Please note: Spotlight Night tickets no longer require an RSVP. Seating is limited and available at the venue on a first come first served basis.

All 2016/17 Spotlight Nights will be held at Nordstrom Recital Hall in Benaroya Hall, located two blocks from The 5th Avenue Theatre.

American Sign Language Interpreters provided upon request - please contact Guest Services at guestservices@5thavenue.org at least two weeks prior to the event. 

 

SHOW TALKS WITH ALBERT EVANS

The 5th Avenue Theatre Artistic Associate Albert Evans hosts a special series of delightful and insightful presentations which will take place one hour before every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday performance. These presentations inform and enhance the theater-going experience with background, context and history of the musicals audiences see. Free and open to the public; tickets to the show are encouraged but not required​

Special Show Talks: Captive Art™ at the 5th Avenue Theatre

During the run of Man of la Mancha, we are pleased to announce that Captive Art™ is coming to the 5th Avenue. This exhibit will feature a selection of prisoner-created Captive Art™ from the United States and abroad. The exhibit will on view in Studio E throughout the run of the show during our Show Talks On select Saturdays Daniel Shea, president and co-founder of A Touch of Light, will be giving a short presentation about the Exhibit.

Show Talks take place in Studio E at DAT 5.

SHOW TALKS FOR MAN OF LA MANCHA


Saturday, October 8, 7:00 PM, Captive Art™ at the 5th Avenue Theatre

Tuesday, October 11, 6:30 PM
Wednesday, October 12, 6:30 PM
Thursday, October 13, 7:00 PM
Saturday, October 15, 7:00 PM, Captive Art™ at the 5th Avenue Theatre

Tuesday, October 18, 6:30 PM
Wednesday, October 19, 6:30 PM
Thursday, October 20, 7:00 PM hosted by KING FM's Marta Zekan
Saturday, October 22, 7:00 PM, Captive Art™ at the 5th Avenue Theatre

Tuesday, October 2, 6:30 PM
Wednesday, October 26, 6:30 PM
Thursday, October 27, 7:00 PM
Saturday, October 29, 7:00 PM, Captive Art™ at the 5th Avenue Theatre

To learn more about Man of La ManchaClick Here

 

FRIDAYS AT THE 5TH

Workshops for High School Students 

Especially for high school students with an interest in musical theater, these workshops give students the opportunity to create the characters, sing the songs, learn the choreography, and meet with the cast and crew for the productions on our stage. At each workshop, the participants enjoy a pizza party, see the show, and attend a talkback with the cast after the evening's performance--all for only $25! 

Fridays at The 5th workshops are for students ages 14-18. 

For details and a schedule of upcoming Fridays at The 5th events, click here.

 

POST-SHOW TALKBACKS

Following select Sunday night performances, members of the audience are invited to meet the cast, crew and creative team (if available) and ask questions about the show. Post Show Talk Backs are hosted by Education staff. Requires a ticket to the performance.

Mark your calendars for these upcoming POST SHOW TALKBACKS

Disney's The Little Mermaid

  •  Sunday, December 11, 2016

The Pajama Game 

  • Sunday, February 26, 2017

The Secret Garden 

  • April 30, 2016

Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion

  • Sunday, June 25

Fun Home

  • Sunday, July 23

POST-SHOW DISCUSSIONS

On select dates, members of the audience are invited to participate in moderated discussion about the themes and issues that each show addresses. Post Show Discussions do not involve cast, crew or creative team members and are moderated by Education staff and special guests. Requires a ticket to the performance.

Disney's The Little Mermaid

  • Sunday, December 4, 2016
  • Friday, December 9 (Tentative), 2016
  • Friday, December 16, 2016

The Pajama Game

  • Sunday, February 12, 2016
  • Friday, February 17 (Tentative), 2016
  • Sunday, February 19, 2016
  • Friday, February 24, 2016

Murder for Two

  • TBD

The Secret Garden

  • Sunday, April 23, 2016
  • Friday, April 28, 2016
  • Friday, May 5, 2016

Romy and Michele’s High School Reunion

  • Friday, June 9, 2016
  • Sunday, June 11, 2016
  • Friday, June 16, 2016
  • Sunday, June 18, 2016
  • Friday, June 23, 2016
  • Friday, June 30, 2016

Fun Home

  • Sunday, July 16, 2016
  • Friday, July 21, 2016
  • Friday, July 28, 2016

All dates are subject to change.

If you are interested purchasing a Sunday Night Talkback subscription package, please contact the Box Office at 206-625-1900.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

 

RISING STAR PROJECT 2016
How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying

March 3 - 5 2016, local teens from across Washington State mounted an all-student production of How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying on the historic 5th Avenue stage.

The Rising Star Project production is entirely student-performed, including a student cast and student orchestra, and is run by a student technical crew under the mentorship and guidance of theater professionals. The production is coordinated, marketed, developed and produced by a student administrative team under the coaching of 5th Avenue Theatre staff. 

For complete details about the Rising Star Project click here.

 

PUBLIC PERFORMANCES

Evening and weekend performances will take place  in March 2017.  For more information and to buy tickets, please check back in February 2017.
 

SCHOOL PERFORMANCE

Rising Star Project will also present a special matinee performance for students and schools.

Student Tickets to School Performances are $18 each (includes service fees).  Groups will receive one complimentary ticket for every 10 tickets purchased.

To purchase tickets contact Corporate & Group Sales team, Chad and Martha, at (888) 625-1418 or cbiesman@5thavenue.org.